President Dalia Grybauskaitė

The President’s statement on the Government’s composition


The term provided by the law for the formation of the Government is expiring.

However, Prime Minister-designate Algirdas Butkevičius has failed to submit a complete coordinated list of candidates for ministers.

Today the Prime Minister presented only twelve candidates for ministers, assuming personal responsibility for each of them. 

The submitted list does not include the names of the Minister of Social Security and Labor and the Minister of Education and Science.

The candidates chosen by the Prime Minister are very different in terms of their competence.

Some of them meet only the minimum requirements for performing their direct duties and properly representing Lithuania abroad.

The requirements posed on all the candidates, irrespective of their party affiliation, were equal and the same.

The Government must start working in time because there is a lot of work and many important decisions ahead.

Therefore, based on the submission made by the Prime Minister, I have signed a decree approving the 16th Government in its incomplete composition.

I hope that the Prime Minister, who has assumed responsibility for the Government's composition, will complete the formation of the Cabinet of Ministers as soon as possible.


Today I approve the Government of the following composition:

Valentinas Mazuronis- Minister of Environment

Jaroslav Neverovič- Minister of Energy

Rimantas Šadžius - Minister of Finance

Juozas Olekas - Minister of National Defence

Šarūnas Birutis - Minister of Culture

Rimantas Sinkevičius - Minister of Transport and Communication

Vytenis Povilas Andriukaitis- Minister of Health

Juozas Bernatonis -Minister of Justice

Linas Antanas Linkevičius - Minister of Foreign Affairs

Birutė Vėsaitė - Minister of Economy

Dailis Alfonsas Barakauskas -Minister of the Interior

Vigilijus Jukna - Minister of Agriculture

I would like to wish the incoming Government successful work for the benefit of all the people of Lithuania. 

Dalia Grybauskaitė, President of the Republic of Lithuania

Last updated 2012.12.07 11:42